fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Wellness with Nathan Hill at Mr B’s Emporium

19 March @ 6:30 pm 9:30 pm

Wellness with Nathan Hill

Mr B’s Emporium is delighted to welcome novelist Nathan Hill to chat about his remarkable new novel, Wellness – an epic masterpiece exploring marriage, middle age, our tech obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together.

Following on from Nathan’s previous novel, The Nix, Wellness is deeply powerful, surprisingly funny and ultimately moving, and already so beloved by our booksellers. It’s a perfect read for fans of John Irving, Jonathan Franzen and A. M. Homes. We hope you’ll join us as we welcome Nathan all the way from the US to chat to us.

About the book:

A powerfully affecting novel about how we change, grow and age, Wellness is a story of marriage, middle age, our tech-obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together.

When Jack and Elizabeth meet as college students in the 90s, the two quickly join forces and hold on tight, each eager to claim a place in Chicago’s thriving underground art scene with an appreciative kindred spirit. Fast-forward twenty years to married life, and the no-longer-youthful dreamers are forced to face their demons, from unfulfilled career ambitions to painful childhood memories of their own dysfunctional families. In the process, Jack and Elizabeth must undertake separate, personal excavations, or risk losing the best thing in their lives: each other.

Moving from the gritty 90s Chicago art scene to a suburbia of detox diets and home renovation hysteria, Wellness mines the absurdities of modern technology and modern love to reveal profound, startling truths about intimacy and connection. In this follow-up to Nathan Hill’s electric debut The Nix, Wellness reimagines the love story with healthy doses of insight, irony and heart.

14-15, John St
Bath, BA1 2JL
+ Google Map