fbpx

Clanlands in New Zealand with Graham McTavish at Bath Elim church

Bath Elim Church Charlotte Street, Bath, BANES, United Kingdom

You may know him as Dougal Mackenzie in Outlander, as Dwarf Dwalin in The Hobbit trilogy, or perhaps Ser Harrold Westerling in House of the Dragon – actor, writer, and new friend of the shop Graham McTavish joins Mr. B's right here in Bath!

Following on from the success of Clanlands, Graham has teamed up with fellow Outlander actor, Sam Heughan, once again in their brand new book Clanlands in New Zealand, taking us all on another unforgettable wild ride. So buckle up, grab a dram, and join us for a truly unforgettable night!

About the Book:

Stars of Outlander, Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish are no strangers to the rugged beauty of Scotland. But this time they're setting their sights on a new horizon: New Zealand.

Join our intrepid Scotsmen on their latest epic adventure across

Hard hat behind-the-scene event tours at The Assembly Rooms

Bath Assembly Rooms Bennett Street, Bath, BANES, United Kingdom

These hard hat tours are the first in a series of specialist event tours that will be on offer at Bath Assembly Rooms this year.

With the strip-out of the basement now complete, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity to see the Assembly Rooms in a way it's not been seen for many years.

The lower ground floor, rich in original architecture with vaulted ceilings and home to the historic Cold Bath is featured on this tour, as well as the principle rooms on the ground floor, and some of the upper floors. Before the next stage of works begin there is a limited opportunity to see the building in it's rawest way.

Each tour last approximately 1hr 45minutes to 2hrs. Suitable for those over 18 only, this specialist tour costs £15 per person (both members and non-members).

Opening Times
1 March- 3 March 2024: 12:00, 12:15
8 March- 10 March 2024: 12:00, 12:15
15 March 2024: 12:00, 12:15
17 March 2024: 12:00, 12:15
22 March- 24 March 2024: 12:00, 12:15
29 March- 1 April 2024: 12:00, 12:15

Bryony Gordon presents Mad Woman at Komedia Bath

Komedia Bath 22-23 Westgate St, Bath, United Kingdom

Older. Madder. Wiser?

Pioneering author, podcaster and activist Bryony Gordon has long been open about her mental health, lifting the lid on a subject that was taboo for many years. Mad Woman is her phenomenal follow up – a decade later – to the brilliant number one bestseller Mad Girl. Join her as she talks to writer Marisa Bate about how our attitudes and understanding of mental illness is changing. Expect a candid and intimate chat covering everything from burnout and binge eating, living with fluctuating hormones, and whether mental illness is simply a chemical imbalance, or rather a normal response from your brain telling you that something isn't right?

'Bryony Gordon is a terrific, compassionate writer' – Elizabeth Day

Gordon has been writing for the Telegraph for 23 years.

The Warm Hands of Ghosts with Katherine Arden at The Mission Theatre

The Mission Theatre 32 Corn Street, Bath, United Kingdom

Following on from Arden's bestselling The Winter Night trilogy (beginning with Team B fave The Bear and the Nightingale), The Warm Hands of Ghosts takes us back to WW1. It tells the haunting story of Laura and Freddie Iven, two loving siblings separated by the war who will do whatever it takes to make it back to one another alive, even if that means making a deal with a devil.

About the Book:

January 1918. Laura Iven has been discharged from her duties as a nurse and sent back to Halifax, Canada, leaving behind a brother still fighting in the trenches of the First World War. Now home, she receives word of Freddie's death in action along with his uniform -but something doesn't quite make sense.

Determined to find out more, Laura returns to Belgium as a volunteer at a private

Exhuming Oldfield: A house Detective Story at the BRLSI

Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution 16-18 Queen Square, Bath, United Kingdom

Exhuming Oldfield: A House Detective Story
When Robert Heath and his wife Frances bought Marston Mill in 2010 the listed buildings register showed it as dating from the 17th century. However, extensive searches of the archives revealed no records of any mill on the site earlier than 1870. But when a local expert identified a buttress on the house as being an old external chimney it was realised that half of the house was a single-storey hall-house, much older than the other half.

Using a combination of research into archives, dendrology, carbon 14 dating, metal detecting, and of course excavation, they gradually unravelled the true history of the property, which turned out probably to have been built 800 years ago. Even more interesting is that the site appears to have been settled by Saxons some 1500 years ago, and occupied on and off for some 6000 years.

Dr. Robert Heath will take you through the detailed story of this fascinating property and update us on the latest finds from the dig which has been going on for the last year.

The talk is taking place at the Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution, 16 Queen Square, Bath, BA1 2HN on Thursday 14th March, 7.30pm, with an admission charge of £4 for members, and £5 for the general public. Pay on the door.

Wellness with Nathan Hill at Mr B’s Emporium

Mr B's Emporium Bookshop 14-15, John St, Bath

Mr B's Emporium is delighted to welcome novelist Nathan Hill to chat about his remarkable new novel, Wellness – an epic masterpiece exploring marriage, middle age, our tech obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together.

Following on from Nathan's previous novel, The Nix, Wellness is deeply powerful, surprisingly funny and ultimately moving, and already so beloved by our booksellers. It's a perfect read for fans of John Irving, Jonathan Franzen and A. M. Homes. We hope you'll join us as we welcome Nathan all the way from the US to chat to us.

About the book:

A powerfully affecting novel about how we change, grow and age, Wellness is a story of marriage, middle age, our tech-obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together.

When Jack and Elizabeth meet as college students in the 90s, the two quickly join forces and hold on tight, each eager to claim a place in Chicago's thriving underground art scene with an appreciative kindred spirit. Fast-forward twenty years to married life, and the no-longer-youthful dreamers are forced to face their demons, from unfulfilled career ambitions to painful childhood memories of their own dysfunctional families. In the process, Jack and Elizabeth must undertake separate, personal excavations, or risk losing the best thing in their lives: each other.

Moving from the gritty 90s Chicago art scene to a suburbia of detox diets and home renovation hysteria, Wellness mines the absurdities of modern technology and modern love to reveal profound, startling truths about intimacy and connection. In this follow-up to Nathan Hill's electric debut The Nix, Wellness reimagines the love story with healthy doses of insight, irony and heart.

The Mars House with Natasha Pulley at Mr B’s Emporium

Mr B's Emporium Bookshop 14-15, John St, Bath

Mr B's Emporium is thrilled to welcome the return of the beloved Natasha Pulley to discuss her brand new genre-bending novel, The Mars House.

Timely and utterly unputdownable, The Mars House is a beautiful queer romance novel about privilege, strength, life, and love across class divisions – perfect for fans of Babel by R.F. Kuang, and This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone.

About the book:

January Stirling was one of the principal dancers of London's Royal Ballet. Now he's a climate refugee bound for Tharsis, the notorious terraformed colony on Mars. It's a utopia for the naturalised population. For January, as a dangerous Earthstronger whose body is unadjusted to the weaker Martian gravity, it's a life sentence to hard labour and ferocious discrimination.

But he will live.

Aubrey Gale, energy trillionaire and hereditary senator, is running for election on a hardline platform to protect the native population from dangerous immigrants. The path to equality is simple, requiring all Earthstrongers who choose to come to Mars to undergo the disabling and sometimes fatal process of surgical naturalisation.

Which is no life at all.

When a disastrous media encounter plunges Aubrey and January's lives into chaos, the solution is a five-year made-for-reality-TV marriage that could secure January's future and ensure Aubrey's political success . . . but it soon becomes clear that thousands of lives hang in the balance, and nothing is as it seems.

Top Secret – The Magic of Science at Komedia

Komedia Bath 22-23 Westgate St, Bath, United Kingdom

This is your opportunity to surround yourself with the mystery of magic, cleverly fused with wondrous and miraculous feats of science.

Hold on to your seats as the Komedia is transformed into a real-life science laboratory and lots of unbelievable "how did they do that!" moments. Experience non-stop actionpacked interactive magical science experiments that will capture the imagination, a fast-moving and colourful magical science show, packed with mystery, suspense, and heaps of mess!

You Are Here with David Nicholls at St Swithin’s Church

St Swithin's Church 37 The Paragon, Bath, United Kingdom

Mr B's Emporium cannot wait to welcome one of Britain's most acclaimed novelists, David Nicholls, to Bath for an evening in celebration of his upcoming book, You Are Here – his funniest, most romantic novel yet!

With books that are both laugh-out-loud funny and devastatingly moving – often on the same page! – David is the beloved writer behind cult comedy 'Starter for Ten,' the Man Booker-longlisted 'Us,' and the iconic global bestseller 'One Day,' recently adapted into an acclaimed Netflix series. Mr B's couldn't be more excited to hear all about You Are Here, a brand new novel about first encounters and second chances which proves that sometimes you need to get lost in order to find your way.

About the book:

Marnie is stuck. Stuck working alone in her London flat, stuck battling the long afternoons and a life that increasingly feels like it's passing her by.

Michael is coming undone. Reeling from his wife's departure, increasingly reclusive, taking himself on long, solitary walks across the moors and fells. When a persistent mutual friend and some very English weather conspire to bring them together, Marnie and Michael suddenly find themselves alone on the most epic of walks and on the precipice of a new friendship.

But can it survive the journey?